The Safe Cig Review The Safe Cig Review
Starter Kit Range: $69.95 - $159.95
Cartridges Cost: $2.50
Cartridge Life: 250 - 300 Puffs
Battery Life: 300+ Puffs
Charger Options:
Wall, USB, Car & PCP
  • Long lasting cartridges
  • Satisfying tobacco & menthol flavors
  • Free US shipping
  • Only two flavors
  • Limited starter kit options
  • A little pricey
2.4 of 5
The Safe Cig SafeCig has a long-standing reputation as one of the best ecigarettes for beginners. While they only offer very basic starter kits and two flavor options, the products they do have are top notch.
40 100 19

*** Attention! As of this morning, 2/4/13, Safe Cig’s website is down. We believe this is just a temporary issue and will post any updates as we get them. In the meantime, we are recommending V2 Cigs because they have very comparable products. Check out the V2 Cigs Review here!***

 

The Safe Cig Reviews show that Safe Cig  is one of the most well known names in the world of electronic cigarettes and it keeps getting better.  The Safe Cig has long lasting refill cartridges that will give you the same amount of smoking time as 2 packs of tobacco cigarettes.  The Safe Cig isn’t for everyone, namely those who like fruit or other non-cigarette flavors. They only offer Tobacco and Menthol cartridges because that is all they believe most smokers want.  As a result, the tobacco and menthol flavors offered by The Safe Cig are phenomenal.

For $12.50, you can purchase 5 refill cartridges from the Safe Cig website.  Each refill costs $2.50 and lasts as long as 2 packs of tobacco cigarettes.  You can get Safe Cig cartridges in 4 nicotine strengths and 3 flavors.  The Safe Cig provides a new atomizer with each cartridge refill.  The starter kit is a little pricier than some other brands, but the value is also higher since the cartridges are longer lasting.

After all our reviews, The Safe Cig Review found that they are the only brand listed on our site that is certified, which means quality and consistency is guaranteed on ALL cartridges. They also have a great program offering Military personnel discounts and offer Free U.S. Shipping, a 30 Day Guarantee, and a Lifetime Warranty on their electronic cigarette starter kits.

Review continues after kit comparison table...

  • Safe Cig Kits

  • Given name of the e-cig package Kit Name:
  • The e-cig's construction. Cartomizer: = Atomizer built into replaceable cartridge; 3 Piece = Separate Atomizer.E-cig Type:
  • Number of batteries contained in your kitBatteries:
  • Number of cartridges included in your kitCartridges:
  • Battery Wall Charger Included?Wall Charger:
  • Battery USB Charger Included?USB Charger:
  • Battery Car Charger Included?Car Charger:
  • Personal Charger Pack Included? (Allows recharge on the go)PCP:
  • Standard Storage/Protective Case Included?Case Included:
  • Power Through (Hardwired Battery to USB Port) Included? Power Through:
  • Score from our readers ratings & commentsUser Score:
  • Retail Price (check our coupon section for discounts!)

    Price

  • Compare this kit against other brands in the same price range Rival Compare:
  • starter

  • Original
  • Cartomizer
  • 1
  • 8
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • $69.95

  • standard

  • Original Pro
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 8
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • $89.95

  • highend

  • Micro Deluxe
  • Cartomizer
  • 4
  • 17
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • $159.95

The Safe Cig is one of, if not the best, smoking alternatives for smokers who want a true tobacco cigarette taste and want high quality products they can rely on when they need to get their nicotine fix.

Update – 09/19/2011

The Safe Cig has always been a long standing champ in the fight for first place electronic cigarettes.  Now, Safe Cig fans have a new product to celebrate with the introduction of the Safe Cig Micro.  This model is a revolutionary step for ecig technology!  The Safe Cig Micro is really tiny compared to other electronic cigarettes.  The battery is only 1/8 cm in diameter and 5 ½ cm long.  If you doubt that such a tiny e-cig can bring great vapor, think again.  Vaping with the Safe Cig Micro is better than ever.  It is smoother and offers a full, rich vapor with each drag.

While other electronic cigarettes can feel bulky and awkward, the Safe Cig Micro is really lightweight and easy to handle.  It is a natural transition from tobacco cigarettes and smokers won’t feel like they are using a big clunky “fake cigarette” with the Micro!  Instead, it feels really authentic and it’s easy to get used to.

The Safe Cig Micro comes in a total of 10 flavors, rather than only the 3 Safe Cig original options.  The case resembles a traditional cigarette pack, but since the Safe Cig Micro is so tiny, the case holds all your gear at once.  In the case, you can store your Micro Cig, 2 batteries with refills attached, and 5 extra refills.  There is a USB charger in the pack so you can recharge your batteries on the go.  Just plug it into the laptop and you will be back in business in no time!

Overall, the Safe Cig Micro is a great step in the right direction for electronic cigarette technology.  This tiny little ecig doesn’t disappoint.

The Safe Cig Gallery

SafeCig has a long-standing reputation as one of the best ecigarettes for beginners. While they only offer very basic starter kits and two flavor options, the products they do have are top notch.
  • Long lasting cartridges
  • Satisfying tobacco & menthol flavors
  • Free US shipping
  • Only two flavors
  • Limited starter kit options
  • A little pricey

3 of 5

2 of 5

4.5 of 5

2 of 5

2.4 of 5
Visit The Safe Cig >
David

Lorna Kelly - CocktailNerd Review Writer

Lorna had been a smoker for 30 years before discovering e-cigarettes, and had almost completely given up on the change of being able to give up tobacco. Motivated by recently becoming a Grandmother, Lorna got into e-cigs after an overheard conversation with our site editors.

  • Janice Scott

    March 2, 2013 #1 Author

    Vapor
    Flavor

    I started with safe cig and enjoyed the product.
    Then they got where they could take your payment and not send your order.
    Ive had a order since Jan 18th with no status on my order or fefund on my paymentcurrently working with the cedit card company.also don’t. Spend the extra money on express.
    the only thing you get express from is he loss of your money.

  • Neil

    February 6, 2013 #2 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Flavor
    Value

    Be VERY careful with SafeCig at the moment. They’re inventory is non-existent, they never returned the batteries I sent them back in December to be replaced per their lifetime guarantee, and now the site isn’t just down, when you google it, the description provides details about domain name rates etc.

    I was a customer of theirs for 3 years, and when I noticed their stock dwindling it forced me to go to go to another company and get their product, so I went to V2. Glad I made the switch.

  • Maroon5_lover

    January 31, 2013 #3 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I’ve never known a company to go downhill so fast. Every time I went to order they were constantly out of stock. They got better but when my battery died I just dumped my kit rather than risk going back to normal cigarettes if the same issues happened again.

  • ryan

    January 17, 2013 #4 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    This company is slipping in many areas lately, but when the product is in it’s a good product. They have sold out of most flavors for over 2 months, so if you end up picking it could be gone for a while.

  • Visit 's Web Site >

  • Malcolm

    December 20, 2012 #5 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    Safe Cig are great until you need to contact them. I was so happy I even took to their facebook page to tell others how great they were. Then I had a problem with my battery and getting it replaced, or my return even acknowledged was a nightmare. After a month of no answers I ended up contacting the BBB. The owner eventually got in contact with me and sent me a new battery and some free cartridges but it was too late. I finished the remaining cartridges and I don’t trust them to order any more.

  • Angelica

    November 21, 2012 #6 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I’ve tried other brands, SafeCig is THE BEST bar none. I’d like to also thank their customer service team for excellent support, and without question, fixing the problem I had with a bad batch of the cartridges. Without question, they gave me replacement cartridges, along with a prepaid shipping label to send the bad ones back. At first when this happened I was quite upset, but their customer service team goes above and beyond the call of duty to satisfy their customers. So add that to an overall excellent product that is backed up by superb customer service, you can count on SafeCig!

    My favorite blend is the ‘Traditional’ as it really does simulate the same flavor to me as my usual ‘real cig’ brand of Marlboro 100 Lights. Just an FYI if you’re wondering about flavors. I tried all the flavors and that is, IMO, the best. I quit now on cigarettes, and I used to smoke about 1 pack a day. A couple times I’ve tried a ‘real’ cig (like when I had that bad batch of cartridges…be sure you are well stocked, btw!) That confirmed to me how much more I really like the ‘fake’ ones! I can’t stand how I smell after smoking a real cig, and my lungs feel SO MUCH BETTER now! THANK YOU SAFE CIG! I highly recommend!

    PLEASE SAFE CIG keep the Traditional flavor (in the standard size, not the micro) in stock! It’s really the only one I like.

  • Freda Smith

    November 18, 2012 #7 Author

    Overall:
    Shipping
    Flavor

    The cartridges are fairly reasonable in price. I like the free shipping which I’m sure we’re really paying with the price of the products. Good flavor. Having trouble with batteries. Getting a lot of duds for cartridges. Some new cartridges have a burnt taste right off and others just don’t work no matter how good my battery is charged. Because of the vast number of dud cartridges I’ve been getting lately it’s time to find a different company. Too bad because I like the traditional flavor. It’s not a bargain when you have to throw out 2 or 3 cartridges in every 7 pack.

  • Frank

    October 30, 2012 #8 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    These reviews to me are all fake
    The safecig works thats true but at frist they send you refills that last as stated from their website which is Approx: 250 drags or less let’s say almost a pack of regular cigarettes. After my third order they don’t even last 70 drags (Gimmicks) not only that refills are often cloged and batteries most of the time defective. Batteries replacements is free yes.. It’s annoying to deal with them especially for those who have only one!! it means you cannot vape but smoke again, awaiting for the replacement to arrive! (gimmicks there too)
    Don’t exist an Honest company in the world especially here in the states. Refills are too expensive I don’t think they’re worth $17.50 maybe $15 at the most. Also You can only order two flavors that come from 6 to 18Mg all the rest are 18Mg where is the fun to try other flavors when they are too strong for most people?
    Whata hell wih that!! Service is good but just service isn’t enough they need to stop with the gimmicks and sell honest products! I will soon try something else if they don’t turn the scenario around!! Very simple.

  • Visit 's Web Site >

  • Jan

    October 21, 2012 #9 Author

    Overall:

    I have been using SafeCig for two years. At first I was thrilled – I quit smoking after 35 years with the first puff of my SafeCig. After two years of out of stock products and shoddy customer service, I have left SafeCig and will not go back. The fact that they regularly run out of a product that people are addicted to is inexcusable. If they are in the ecig business, they have to understand this and do more to keep their products in stock. Customer Service’s standard line of “we expect more to be in stock in a few days” never plays out – it is sometimes weeks before they get items back in stock. I had to go to another company to get compatible cartridges in the strength and flavor I wanted and I also got compatible batteries – all for a MUCH lower price than SafeCig. They have lost a customer, which is something no company can afford in this day and age.

  • Bronson

    August 16, 2012 #10 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I absolutely love this e-cig, I can’t even stand the smell of regular cigarettes anymore. My kit came with 5 batteries and I never worry about not having it when I need it, 1 battery is always plugged in in my eek and at home, along with 1 standby right next to the chargers. I was a pack/day smoker and haven’t even thought about lighting a traditional smoke in the week since my order came in.

  • scott

    June 27, 2012 #11 Author

    i find the safe cig to be one of the better electronic cigarettes on the market. great quality for anyone starting or have already been vaping!

  • StephBrown

    June 1, 2012 #12 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    Have gone from 2 packs a day to just my Safecig. Not even missing the old cigs. TWO THUMBS UP!!!

  • Visit 's Web Site >

  • Danny Capwood

    May 12, 2012 #13 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I decided on safecig because I needed to save money. I was paying $6.50 per pack for smokes and it was killing me. I tracked it for a couple weeks and I was spending $325 every time I got paid for cigs. So then I switched to “Safe Cigs” and spent $90 on the starter kit and accessories I ordered. From here on out, I’m spending $15 per week on cartridges, compared to $50 a week on cigs. So right there I’m saving $35 each week. I’m guessing off the top of my head that is somewhere around $1500.00 I’m saving in a year of using ecigs. You better believe I’m going to keep using my Safe Cig. That’s nothing to laugh at. Plus my wife isn’t nagging me near as much about stinking up her car with my smoke smell. Hell, I don’t guess I have any complaints at all. Thanks Safe Cig!!

  • LauraBeth

    April 29, 2012 #14 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    It’s been 4 days since I got my kit and I’ve ben using 0 mg with NO SMOKING the whole time!!!! I’m shocked. I smoked really heavy the past 4 years and this is making it easy to stop. I’m THRILLED! It works!!!

  • Mike

    April 9, 2012 #15 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    The refills are not equal to 2 packs, there equal to just under one pack, trust me.

  • Savannah Endicott

    February 19, 2012 #16 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I’ve been using the safe cig since jan 2010 and overall it has been really good. One of my batteries doesn’t last as long as the other one (although I think it’s the one I’ve had for 2 years now) It’s really helped me to cut down and I only really smoke it of an evening after work now.

  • Visit 's Web Site >

  • WilLynton78

    January 29, 2012 #17 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    The safe cig are really cool and sleek and they don’t cost the earth. They have just launched loads of new cartridges and I plan to try them all! The first two (Columbian and Madrid) have been really nice and produce lot of the fake smoke water (vapour?). Check out their facebook group, although they’ve got really big, they answer questions really quickly on there.

  • Samantha Saunders

    January 8, 2012 #18 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    Safe Cig are ok and the products work well. They run out of cartridges for about 3 weeks last year so I had to switch to V2, which was a shame, because I used to enjoy their traditional cartridges.

  • scot

    September 3, 2011 #19 Author

    Overall:
    Vapor
    Shipping
    Flavor
    Value

    I have been smoking the safe cig since it came out. I love the product and am proud to say it helped me quit cigarettes. Great review, and great product 😉

Choose rating:
Vapor:
Shipping:
Flavor:
Value: